Minerva Piano Trio: The Chamber Music of Schubert and the young Brahms

Minerva Piano Trio was founded in London by three young acclaimed soloists with a shared passion for chamber music in spring 2012. Aside from being multiple award-winning musicians, the members of the group bring together a unique and diverse range of expertise in musical research, composition and contemporary music. The trio made its debut at St. Martin-in-the Fields in August 2012 for the Concordia Foundation series, where they performed the almost unknown and very different first version of Brahms’s Op. 8 Piano Trio in B major.

Annie Yim – Piano
Edgar Bailey – Violin
Richard Birchall – Cello


F. Schubert – Violin Sonata in D major, D. 384
F. Schubert – Impromptu in B-flat major, D. 935 No. 3
F. Schubert – Impromptu in F minor, D. 935 No. 4
F. Schubert – Sonatensatz, D. 28
J. Brahms – Piano Trio in B major, Op. 8 (1854, first version)